The politics of plants, part one

They say there are no bad dogs, just bad owners.  Or maybe it’s no bad kids, just bad parents.  I don’t know.  I had bad parents and I’m alright;  My kid is awesome and mostly I am just guessing.  I do know: there are no bad plants.  Maybe you have gooseneck loosestrife or field bindweed; around here it’s Himalayan blackberry, Scotch Broom, and English Ivy.  What about kudzu?  I have to admit, if I was sitting on my porch on a warm evening it would be weird to hear something growing.  Everyone knows these plants are EVIL. 

It’s not the plants, though.  It’s the place. Think about it:  those plants do just fine where they are supposed to be…it is when they are planted somewhere where they should not be that the trouble starts.

Personally, I don’t think my patch of Northwest woodland could tell the difference between a native vine maple or a Japanese laceleaf maple.  I don’t think the birds, the deer, the red squirrels, or anyone else but me would notice the difference.  Chances are pretty good a Japanese laceleaf maple isn’t going to go to seed and create a green desert like ivy, or take over the prairie like buddleia.   I could plant one, I am sure.  I certainly love them and would like to…but I won’t.  I am not going to be the guy that brings rabbits to Australia.  My forest wants vine maples, and it wants huckleberry.  It wants to be a Northwest woodland.  It is me that wants black pine and Acer ‘Bloodgood.’  I remind myself: it isn’t the plant that is bad.  It is the place that is bad for the plant.

This entry was posted in Landscaping, Property Restrictions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The politics of plants, part one

  1. Very Tao.. If I haven’t said it officially, your blog is awesome. I’m going to read the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

