Obnoxious invasives

I asked the city representatives a few more questions, trying to gain some clarity in what seemed, at best, a deliberately vague situation.  They turned to go and Sammi turned back: “There are a number of noxious invasive weeds in the buffer area, and a lot of grass.  We’d like to see the grass and weeds eradicated–especially the thistles before they set seed.”  Sam and Sammi from the City of Sammamish left.

The woman with the clipboard came over.  “I’ve finished listing and charting the plantings and features.  I am going to get it over to the city right away so they can sign off.  You really should pull those thistles.  They can be enormously damaging to an ecosystem like this.”  She left and I went in to change, get my shovel and gloves.   I wandered about the buffer area, inspecting the plants and looking at the nursery tags.  There were so many of them: the freshly dug holes looked like acne spreading across skin…or a pox.  With my daughter tagging close behind, I popped the thistle roots with my shovel and gingerly lifted them from the ground.  If I didn’t take hold just right the spines bit into my forearms through my shirt.  My daughter hates weeds and was disappointed she couldn’t help.

This entry was posted in Property Restrictions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Obnoxious invasives

  1. Pingback: Meditations and musings upon my moss | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  2. Pingback: What am I doing? | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  3. Pingback: Small reveals | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  4. Pingback: You can’t fool Mother Nature | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  5. Pingback: Exploration and Discovery | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  6. Pingback: Dog stories | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  7. Pingback: Change of Mind, Change of Heart (part one) | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  8. Pingback: The Moss Garden at Mid-Mitigation | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  9. Pingback: This has been a story, and I have been the hero of it | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

Leave a Reply

