It’s about community

Plants want to live with their friends.  They want to associate with plants that they like and are like them.  If you happen upon a clearing in a forest, within the ring of trees surrounding the clearing there will be smaller trees, shrubby plants, groundcovers, flowers and bulbs.  I cannot emphasize this enough: NOT lines of plants.  Clusters and groupings, each with similar needs for water, sunlight, shelter.

There are few resources for people with property like mine, I have found.  It is entirely possible that there are few people with property like mine, so resources are generally not necessary.  The Columbia Land Trust 

Put a bird on it!

in the Portland, Oregon area, has what seems to be

an excellent native-gardening program for homeowners; while I can’t participate, I am hoping to utilize some of their information.  One thing they have is a native garden certification program with increasing benefits the more native you go:  a points system based upon the six tiers of the forest.  These tiers are Upper Story Tree, Understory Tree, Shrub, Sub-Shrub, Groundcover, and Flowers and Bulbs.  All of these forest layers work together, interdependent upon one another.  I want to create a simulacrum of a forest margin based upon these six layers.

The gardens of Japan utilize these same relationships to create gardenscapes that are at once highly contrived but extremely representative of nature.  There is no place for

symmetry (or lines or rows) in a Japanese garden. 

High thing, low thing, moundy thing...rock!

Each form exists as itself and the representation of something else.  Assymetry–the use of interlocking scalene triangles–keeps the contrivance in check.  The makers hand is seen, but it looks like nature.   Sounds complicated, but I don’t think it is.  These are the principles I used in my last garden:  A tall plant, a spreading plant, a rounded plant; together these create a scalene triangle.

This entry was posted in Landscaping, Native Plants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s about community

  1. Pingback: Farewell, sad green unicorn | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  2. Pingback: What have I done? | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  3. Pingback: Small reveals | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  4. Pingback: The plan is the process, the process is the plan | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

    • Tatum says:

      You all are weird , a thistle in my sensitive area sounds pg 13 or rated r !!!!!

      • calvincaley says:

        There is a double-entendre in play, yes. It is based upon a demand by my local government that I eradicate all invasive weeds from the sensitive forest area, particularly the thistles. Hopefully you didn’t visit me expecting anythink racy, or were disappointed that I use the Scalene Triangle to illustrate spatial relationship in a landscaping plan…but thank you for visiting, and for your comment!

  5. TheScaleneTriangle says:

    Ahh yes, the scalene triangle.

  6. Pingback: The Moss Garden at Mid-Mitigation | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

Leave a Reply

