Land, lots of land, with the starry skies above

Come look at my wetlaAAAAAH fwump! Unacceptable height, railingwise.

The City directed that the building project have a ‘split rail fence…five and one half feet from the building envelope on the North and East sides, meeting at the intersection of the two fence lines.’  This fence is designed to keep us IN, and this allows us a five and a half foot wide deck of pavers at the rear of the home and a paver patio of approximately 15 feet by twelve feet where the fences ‘intersect.’  This is our outdoor living space, 200 square feet of “free and full use” out of our acre and a quarter, plus twenty feet of front yard and the driveway.  That could be normal, were we living on a tight urban lot, but we are not, and so we sit in our sleek, contemporary home and look over our very rustic rail fence and long for some room to roam.

But the fence was built long before the home was finished, and the patio was one of the last things completed–after inspection, in fact, and so the fence follows the slope of the land and where it ought to create a ‘safety rail’ along the patio, it terminates at about 15 inches high.  Not good.  But I am not going to argue safety railing code with split rail confinement regulators.   I have to have a fence…and I can’t plant a vegetable garden…I am going combine the two, and have it be tall enough so people won’t tumble off the patio and dent my sensitive dirt.

This entry was posted in Property Restrictions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Land, lots of land, with the starry skies above

  1. Corene says:

    Looking forward to the garden fence!

  2. Pingback: As I lean on Mr. Diggy | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  3. Pingback: A garden in the air | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  4. Pingback: The other side of the law | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  5. Pingback: Memories and old photographs | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  6. Pingback: Forbidden Harvest | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  7. Pingback: Confined dining | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  8. Pingback: All dried out | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  9. Pingback: Change of Mind, Change of Heart (part two) | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

Leave a Reply

