A coalescence of tumescent viridescence

It is shocking how dry the native soil in my clearing can get, and how rapidly it dries out,

A mossy log, moss transplants, sword fern, salal....and thou?

considering I have a Class One wetland right over there.  Early on in the Mitigation process, I asked the Planner why she wanted to fill in the clearing–did she even know WHY  it was a clearing?  The answer, at least in part, is because of the nature of the soil.  When the rains are heavy and constant, the earth at the center of the clearing is dense, clayey hardpan with a shallow skin of surface muck.  Barely friable, it does not absorb much rainfall; noting the performance of  plants the Mitigation Planner directed to be planted in it, it may even be nearly sterile.   The “hardpanniest” hardpan areas are the deer track.  The animals appear to be largely habitual, and as there is a family group of three, a pair of immature bucks, and one (very) large alpha buck that all visit the property daily, it is as though I have the Venison Interstate Highway System running through the clearing.

Moss plugs, mossy deadfall branches, and the brighter green is moss that's movin' in.

It was in some of these unplantable, inhospitible areas that I transplanted my moss plugs.  With their native soil intact, I laid them on ground bark and peat, and side-dressed them with compost.  I took the pads before spring had sprung entirely, so I knew that the mosses were accustomed to fairly open sky.  All of them were ground mosses of one sort or another.  With very few exceptions they seem to have taken to their new homes, where I water them about every other day.  While mostly dormant, they green up and inflate with the moisture.

What is very interesting–and exciting, to a moss-o-phile–is that the bare and anemic soil around the moss transplants is growing moss too.   A different kind, but it is occuring on its own and will fill in those spaces that the plugs themselves are working to fill in also: it is a kind of moss mosaic, and also the site of a future battle for supremacy as the mosses decide among themselves who’s ‘got juice.’

I water the clearing regularly as the plants are young and their root systems still developing.  In a

This mouldering stump has four kinds of moss transplanted on it. The thin moss at lower center is filling in on its own.

perfect world I would have drip irrigation or soaker hoses, but my clearing is so sensitive I have to water with an oscillating sprinkler–a miserably inefficient (and wasteful) method, to be sure.  HOWEVER! All runoff goes to the wetland, so anyone who participates in the

water cycle can thank me (I am looking at you, EVERYONE), plus I am watering numerous patches of bare earth, chalk-dry clay, compost, peat, planting mix, forest duff, leaf mold, rotting wood, stumps, and tree bark.  I’ve got more moss going than cupcakes have TV shows.   A couple months after I began my project, my family visited the Moss Garden at the Bloedel Reserve.  It seemed very much like something we could do at home, given the necessary raw materials were on hand–literally just lying around.    Three months after that, it seems to be working out.

This entry was posted in Moss Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A coalescence of tumescent viridescence

  1. Pingback: You can’t fool Mother Nature | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  2. David Spain says:

    Kudos on your mossy endeavors. Although mosses are the earliest land plants, little knowledge is available for their propagation. George Schenk has inspired many new devotees but frustrations rank higher still. Success lies in understanding the differences between vascular and non-vascular. As gardeners we stick to what we have learned and imagine the benefits of amending and tending our plantings, when we imagine moss cultivation, we forget the vast differences in scale. Compost and bark are actually barriers for mosses, while poor compacted soils invite. It’s not so much about what’s in the soil as what’s not, like competition. Good luck and keep focused on watering techniques, think frequency and not volume. You might find inspiration here!
    http://www.mossandstonegardens.com/blog

    • calvincaley says:

      My impulse to lay down bark and side-dress with compost was to mimic the forest duff of the deeper woods and provide some means to retain moisture on my hydrophobic hardpan. I wish now, given a few months of observation, that I had ‘roughed up’ those clayey areas where I laid my earliest moss transplants and kept those areas a bit muddy. While the pads of moss still live, they are not themselves spreading…I HAVE noted that those areas in between them where the native hardpan is still exposed are filling with moss. I work pretty diligently to keep the grasses and other weeds from out-competing the bryophytes and selaginellas The NW moss season (fall though early summer) is just around the corner, and I am planning to cover any exposed compost with a dusting of peat to return those areas to acid. That should make the bare areas more hospitible to moss spores, I hope. I love Love LOVE your site and visit regularly…thank you so much for visiting my blog!

  3. Pingback: All Things, All at Once | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

  4. Pingback: Fall…not quite like the catalog | A Thistle in My Sensitive Area

Leave a Reply

