Yellow Lake

It was clear and cold on January 1. We decided to ring in the year with a walk around the lightly frozen lake.

It was clear and cold on January 1. We decided to ring in the year with a walk around the lightly frozen lake.

A clear sunny day in winter is a rarity here. It would have been a shame to waste it.

A clear sunny day in winter is a rarity here. It would have been a shame to waste it.

Sky, lake and forest come together in an Escher-like way.

Sky, lake and forest come together in an Escher-like way.

The path was wide and fairly level, and on the far shore of the lake this marsh formed a small fringe between ribbons of  forest.

The path was wide and fairly level, and on the far shore of the lake this marsh formed a small fringe between ribbons of forest.

The forest was standard: salal, douglas fir, sword fern.  Without my field guide, I didn't  recognize these bright fruits--drupes, I think--that had gone so long without being eaten.

The forest was standard: salal, douglas fir, sword fern. Without my field guide, I didn’t recognize these bright fruits–drupes, I think–that had gone so long without being eaten.

This entry was posted in Family Activity, Native Plants, Outdoor Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yellow Lake

  1. Corene says:

    Such a pretty day!

  2. rainyleaf says:

    This looks like a beautiful spot, where is it? We’ve been enjoying the clear skies at night for a little stargazing on our after dinner walks.
    Elaine

    • calvincaley says:

      It looks like wild nature, but it is actually in Klahanie. I wish I could tell you exactly where, but when we venture into the larger human habitrails, my wife is the navigator (because that’s where all the kids live).

  3. croftgarden says:

    It is amazing how a little sunshine and some blue sky can transform the landscape.

    • calvincaley says:

      And one’s mood. I think I have now said that cold, clear, and sunny winter days are a rarity here at least a couple times, but now we have had several in a row, with a week beyond that in the forecast. It makes me want to DO stuff…except my ground is frozen. Oh, well. At least I’m smiling!

Leave a Reply

